OS X Ate My Files!
My friend Rasmus told me about this ‘little’ deficiency in OS X a while ago, when something similar happened to his parents Mac. And it is perhaps the stupidest thing I have ever come across in an OS.
Now hold on to your hats:
In my local WordPress 1.3 folder, where I’m currently working on 4, I obviously have a wp-content folder, inside which all my theme files reside. After asking on the WP hackers mailing list about a new function, I figured I’d give the latest nightly a run for its money, and so I downloaded and extracted it, opened the folder, selected all the files and dragged them into my local WP13 folder.
What do you think will happen?
I’ll tell what’ll happen, and what just happened. In OS X, the new wp-content folder will replace the old wp-content folder completely, throwing out everything inside of it, replacing it with the content of the new folder, keeping nothing from the old folder. And while you can undo the action, moving the new folder back where it came from, that won’t undo the deletion of the old folder!
So you’re up shitcreek without a paddle, hands tied behind your back.
This has got to be the most fucked up braindead ‘look at me, I’m a moron’ way of doing things I have ever come across. User data is sacred you fat fuck of an OS! How the hell did this ever make it past the desk of whoever decided that it would be a good idea? And how in the world did he keep his job?
Luckily I had 5-6 files open in my editor and a backup on the server, but I’ll wager I’ve lost at least a days work…